Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1 2 
Send Topic Print
how do you know when air/fuel mix needs to be adju (Read 142 times)
RTC

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

El Paso, TX (Ft. Bliss)
how do you know when air/fuel mix needs to be adju
03/06/10 at 22:36:22

ho do i know when i need to adjust the little screw behind the the brass or when i will need to rejet? right now i'm stock but the header is blue. altitude is a 3700ft. i"ll be adding a harley muffler soon and prob just fab an automotive air filter into the old screen soon as well. will exhaust wrap affect my mix/jetting as well? sorry i am new to this. i searched the forum extensively and read until my eyes hurt but there are so many variables. a good explanation would be helpful or just a "in this case" answer would be even better

IP Logged
verslagen1
YaBB Moderator
ModSquad

Where there's a
will, I want to be
in it.

L.A. California
Re: how do you know when air/fuel mix needs to be
Reply #1 - 03/06/10 at 22:44:26

Most easiest way is by the sound the bike makes on shut down.
phfft  Smiley  no
KERPOW  Shocked  yes

Now a blue header means it's a little lean at your normal cruzin' rpm.
Unless you cruze at idle you're gonna have to bump the main up a little.

WWW   IP Logged
RTC

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

El Paso, TX (Ft. Bliss)
Reply #2 - 03/06/10 at 22:47:29

i just found lancer's "simple carb tuning" post in the tech section and that pretty much explains it. but if anyone wants to add please feel free. also, any tips on getting to that screw mine has not been touched and is still covered.

IP Logged
RTC

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

El Paso, TX (Ft. Bliss)
Reply #3 - 03/06/10 at 22:49:16

vers... most times on shut down it gives one medium sized fart but sometimes it draws attention...a little louder.

IP Logged
RTC

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

El Paso, TX (Ft. Bliss)
Reply #4 - 03/06/10 at 22:51:38