Rat Bike? (Read 555 times)
cunn1780
YaBB Newbies

My '87 Savage is
older than me

Norman, OK
Rat Bike?
10/08/09 at 20:55:00

So I just bought my first bike ever: an '87  Savage with 19,000 miles for $1100.

My buddy who got me into riding started on a Savage as well, and just recently sold it and bought a HD sportster 883.

My bike is a beauty: edelbrock red with a lot of character. He suggested that since she's old and seen better days, and I'm a college student with neither the time nor the money to bring her back to her glory days, I keep her running and just rat her out.

Is this a disgrace to all Savage owners out there? I want to use her as my daily workhorse until I have the money to get something real nice, possibly a new S40 if all works well. Let me know your thoughts...

BTW she runs and drives ok, needs the regular maintenance and a new battery, but other than that she just has some "battle scars" and a slow oil leak coming from somewhere about halfway up the left side of the motor.

Thanks!

"I have come here to chew bubblegum and kick ass... and I'm all out of bubblegum..."
  IP Logged
cunn1780
YaBB Newbies

My '87 Savage is
older than me

Norman, OK
Re: Rat Bike?
Reply #1 - 10/08/09 at 20:55:43

BTW I have some pics but they are too large a file size to post I guess?

"I have come here to chew bubblegum and kick ass... and I'm all out of bubblegum..."
  IP Logged
Oldfeller--FSO
Serious Thumper
ModSquad

Hobby is now
"concentrated
neuropany"

Fayetteville, NC
Reply #2 - 10/08/09 at 21:09:35

Let's fix your terminology first.

You are not broke, you are the average sort of person on this list.

You plan to make your bike a "bobber" but must ride it during the transformation process.

Yeah, we know how to do this without bleeding a lot of coins.

First, do you have any tools?

(or do you have a Harbor Freight store in your town?)

=============

Pictures, posting