Pages: 1 2 
Send Topic Print
2006 LS40 (Read 271 times)
PBLover

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

2006 LS40
09/24/09 at 12:09:12

Hi everyone, I'm a newbie here and also to driving my own bike.  I used to ride a little Honda 350 back in the day, almost 25 years ago now, but decided recently to get back into it after being a passenger for the past couple years.  I just purchased a 2006 Boulevard LS40 for $2800.  It has 953 miles on it and looks like a new bike.  My question is this:  It looks like the oil is the original and should be changed, should I go with standard or switch to synthetic at this point.  I think it will need a new battery new spring, but for now it seems to work well.  Also, are there any other things that should be done to the bike now that it's going to be on the road again.  Tires are good.  I"m definitely not a mechanic but hope to learn a lot about this bike since it's the first I've ever purchased.  Thanks for any help and I think this forum will teach me alot about my new ride!

IP Logged
jabman

England
Re: 2006 LS40
Reply #1 - 09/24/09 at 12:14:45

i would change the oil and filter, always the first thing i do with a new bike i get. please don't ask which oil to use, you may inadvertently spark a big debate

just type oil in the search bar!

93" savage, 177.5 main, 52.5 w/holes 3 turns out , middle circlip, 6" k&n round filter, Dyna muffler, TKAT brace
  IP Logged
Serowbot
YaBB Moderator
ModSquad

OK.... so what's the
speed of dark?

Tucson Az
Reply #2 - 09/24/09 at 12:32:02

Yup,.. oil is a dangerous topic... Grin

But at 950 miles, you can go with synth if you want.  You should be broke in by now...
Also, by now, you are late for a first oil change... no harm done, but definitely time to change both oil and filter...
You may find some metal shavings in the filter,... that's normal during break-in...
As for batteries, Big Crank is very popular here... available online..
Welcome to the site,
Serowbot

Ludicrous Speed !... ... Huh...
  IP Logged