Winter time mods? (Read 155 times)
Bubba
Serious Thumper

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Denver, CO
Winter time mods?
09/22/09 at 09:18:54

Newbie here, got my bike last week....LOVE it! Believe it or not the snow is already flying in Colorado...isn't it September???
Anyway, I'm wondering if anyone has seen this Savage/S40 mod package on ebay?
http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/SUZUKI-SAVAGE-LS650-S40-MAXIMUM-PERFORMANCE-PA...
I e-mailed the seller and asked for specifics such as jet sizes and such but haven't heard back. I'm thinking this may be a pretty good deal since it seems to give me the stuff I want at a decent price. Is this the way to go or should I do things one at a time??? I really would prefer NOT to cook my engine. Any helpful tips from anyone???
Thanks,

'06 lt Blue, Dyna Power pipe, air screw 2 1/4 turns, 52.5 pilot w/ bleed holes, 150 Main, 2/3 spacer, Pirelli MT66 tires, Raptor petcock, 412-4006 Progressive shocks
  IP Logged
EJID
Serious Thumper

Work to ride and
ride to work.

Pocatello, ID
Re: Winter time mods?
Reply #1 - 09/22/09 at 09:25:32

First, most people on this forum have a general consensus that the seller of those items is not exactly a "trusted" source and others have had problems.

Keep watching fleabay for a used hd takeoff muffler (just make sure it's not one with the crossover piper - won't work) - putting on a new muffler, will usually take some fabrication for the mount, but there's lots of info on these boards to help you out.

Not sure what everyone else is using for air filters, but there are other sources for them as well.

And for your souce of jets, LANCER is the guy who can take care of getting you exactly what you want. (He sells a jet kit on fleabay as well)

05 S40 15" Memphis Slim, FXDWG Bars, Moved Rear Signals, Saddlebags, Fork Bag, Mini-Tach, Raptor, Cone Filter, Fishtail Muffler, Mix Screw Out 2.5 Turns, 4" Fwd Controls, 147.5 Main/55 Pilot @ 4500
  IP Logged
SavageDude
Serious Thumper
Alliance Member

OC_California