Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1 2 
Send Topic Print
Picked up a Savage - Need help getting it running! (Read 298 times)
riot
Ex Member

Picked up a Savage - Need help getting it running!
09/08/09 at 06:12:08

So first a little background.  I've been working on cars for about 7-8 years now.  I've worked on everything from swapping motors to roll cage construction.  I'm pretty familiar with working in the garage.

With that said, I found a great deal on a 2001 Savage with ~5,500miles.  The bike has been sitting for a few months and the owner couldn't get it to start anymore.  She thought it may be the gas but upon inspection of the tank contents...there wasn't much gas in there.

First things first, I brought the bike home and put it on the battery tender to get that battery nice and full.  It is to my understanding that this motor needs some serious cranking amps to start.  

I went out and grabbed 1.5 gallons of 93 octane gas (just in case if there was some old gas left in the tank this would "balance" out the mixture.

Attempted to start the bike.  The starter is turning and everything sounds healthy, but no fire.    Yes the carb was choked, and yes the fuel switch was set "on".

I think next I'm going to pull the plug for replacement and pull the  fuel line headed to the carb just to verify fuel is getting TO the carb.  If that doesn't work I think I'm going to pull the whole carb for a closer inspection/cleaning.

Does anyone have any other suggestions?

IP Logged
SimonTuffGuy
Serious Thumper
Alliance Member

i like to thump...
;)

Central PA
Re: Picked up a Savage - Need help getting it runn
Reply #1 - 09/08/09 at 06:17:23

Is the petcock set to ON? Try setting it to PRI, let it sit for a few seconds and then give it a try. PRI will let gas flow to the carb without vaccum needed. If that's the case, I believe you go back and check the vaccum line for cracks or breaks.