Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
First Maintenance (500mi) - Can I do this myself? (Read 180 times)
SianLogic
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

First Maintenance (500mi) - Can I do this myself?
09/02/09 at 12:34:51

Hello All,

I just bought a 2009 S40.  One of the reasons I bought this bike is because it's supposed to be very easy to work on.  I'm wondering what all is done during the 'break-in maintenance' and if these are things I could do myself.  This is my first bike and I am not an expert mechanic.  Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

IP Logged
serenity3743
Serious Thumper

Striving to better,
oft we mar what's
well

Black Mountain, NC
Re: First Maintenance (500mi) - Can I do this myse
Reply #1 - 09/02/09 at 13:09:47

You should be able to do the first maintenance, gain a little confidence (but don't get too cocky), and eventually do anything on this bike.  You need to plan your work.  A service manual is a must:  either Clymer's or the Factory Service Manual, or ideally both.  I have the Clymer's in a PDF.  If you need it, PM me your email address and I'll send it to you.

2000 LS650P Suzuki windshield, luggage rack, saddle bag racks, k & n air filter, Dyna muffler,2/3 white spacer, do-it-myself seat. Love to ride!
  IP Logged
False Illusion

Two digits down as
we're passin'!

Dayton/Southwest Ohio
Reply #2 - 09/02/09 at 13:33:19

SianLogic wrote on 09/02/09 at 12:34:51:
Hello All,

I just bought a 2009 S40.  One of the reasons I bought this bike is because it's supposed to be very easy to work on.  I'm wondering what all is done during the 'break-in maintenance' and if these are things I could do myself.  This is my first bike and I am not an expert mechanic.  Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Welcome SianLogic!

Assuming that you've followed the break in procedure outlined in Section 4 of the owners manual, all that is required is: