Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Belt replaced, but not the cogwheels? (Read 98 times)
johnnie
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Belt replaced, but not the cogwheels?
08/31/09 at 06:02:46

Hi, a couple of months ago my belt snapped, and its replaced (costly Sad) so that's fine. But ever since, the new belt makes such a weird noise. They told me it was normal and that it would go away after some good miles. But it didn't, so they gave me all kinds of sprays to fix the noise, and that worked mostly, but only for like 5 miles or so...

Now, I'm not an expert, but I think the cogwheels should be replaced... They feel quite sharp and to my own horror I saw that my new belt is being eaten away (and it's not my dog Cheesy). The garage said these cogwheels are quite expensive though, so I want your advice first. Frankly, I don't have a lot of money...

Other question: can I change the belt's direction when I change the cogwheels? The teeth on the belt are damaged on one side only, so changing the direction of it would be like starting with a clean slate for my belt, and would prevent it from losing grip.

Thanks you guys Wink

IP Logged
jonnyb021104
YaBB Newbies

broken ass 86
savage!

northern virginia
Re: Belt replaced, but not the cogwheels?
Reply #1 - 08/31/09 at 16:36:05

from what i have seen on here converting it to a chain drive would be a much cheaper option and would allow for some fine tuning and better speeds.

IP Logged
Trippah
Serious Thumper

I ride, therefore I
am.

central Mass
Reply #2 - 09/01/09 at 19:41:16