Send Topic Print
Carb has Issues (Read 78 times)
dazza
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Carb has Issues
08/29/09 at 18:59:54

A newbie here, looking for advice on my thumper's troublesome carb-related issues. I recently bought a 2004, all-stock, good condition Savage. Basically, here's a story and I am open to feedback. I apologize for the level of detail, but would be stoked if anyone has the time to offer suggestions. The main issue is popping/cracking when shifting 1st to 2nd, sometimes 2nd to 3rd, plus residual knocking on deceleration. I cannot decide if more tuning is the trick, or the motorcycle chop-shop did not do the job I believe I paid them to do. I should add I have scoured the posts and seen all the stuff about carb rejetting, etc. Here's my Thumper story (ps: adore my thumper, issues notwithstanding!), with hopefully answerable questions following . . .