Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1 2 
Send Topic Print
my first two-wheeled mechanical adventure... (Read 222 times)
Bryan
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

my first two-wheeled mechanical adventure...
08/05/09 at 07:51:02

Okay, I had my first adventure last night with my bike, and have lots of questions (I bolded them all in case you wanna skip the rest; I have a rambling problem).

First of all, I'm not a mechanic.  I do as much work on my car as I can, mostly filters, belts, brakes.  I have absolutely no experience with motorcycles or small engines.

I bought a 96 Savage two days ago.  It's my first motorcycle.  It's got 2300 miles on it, and the title from 2000 says it has 1900 miles.  So in the last 9 years, it's been driven a whopping 400 miles, so it's been sitting around a lot.

The guy trying to sell it to me pulls up in his car with the battery in hand, cause he had it charged.  Well it wasn't charged enough, so he decided to jump the bike from a car.  Is that a good idea?  If not, where can I take it to get it charged?  It seemed to work, but I'm just not sure if that should be done...

It took us quite a few tries to get in running, but we finally did.  We let it idle a bit, and tried to take it for a test drive, but anytime you gave it some gas it would backfire like crazy and have no power.  I phoned a friend that knows a lot of mechanical stuff and he told me the carburetor probably needed to be cleaned, and the bike was probably fine if I wanted to buy it.  I couldn't turn down a bike with only 2300 miles, so I bought it.

My friend said the problem was likely the carb, but the owner said it could be the spark plug, and since I've never even touched a carb I figured I'd stick with what I know, so I decided to change the plug.  What an adventure...