Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1 2 
Send Topic Print
Random thoughts on my 650 (Read 493 times)
voldigicam

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Random thoughts on my 650
07/31/09 at 06:50:46

Way back in the 1970s I briefly tried and didn't follow up on motorcycling.  I did bicycle lots.  Didn't own a car.  Although I worked as a mechanic for a good while.  I didn't bicycle slowly.  Alps.  Tracks.  Fast. Following big name riders down hills.  Pumping up mountain passes.  Carrying weight for weeks and camping.  I still ride and will eventually get some images of my current steeds up.  So I remained used to balancing and track standing, descending at 45 mph in the mountains, maintaining crisp situational awareness.

I also learned to drive a car at one point.  Double declutching, high speed cornering, all that good stuff.  Which I can probably still do fine, even though I drive like a little old lady because of the morons who have moved out here into the countryside.

But I maintained an interest in motorcycles.  My brother in law, a former professional rider, indicated I would do very well on a motorcycle because of the above experience and approach.

So this year I decided to learn motorcycling.  I got a scooter, a 125 Honda.  It was easy and I learned to handle it well. Took a few 20 mile rides.  Then my wife destroyed the scooter.  

I missed it.

I took the basic rider course.  Got a perfect score riding a Honda CB125 with a glitchy clutch.  Lots to keep track of.  I started shopping for a bike.  First I rode a Royal Enfield.  Which I liked.  Then a Suzuki GZ250.  Too small - girl's bike.  No trouble riding it, even though 2 people pulled out into me.  Then a Honda 250.  Too small again, although I liked the standard position.  Clearly I had to get something.