Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1 2 
Send Topic Print
stright pipe and back pressure? (Read 209 times)
JohnBoy
Serious Thumper

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

stright pipe and back pressure?
07/28/09 at 21:55:46

Any idea just how much pressure is generated by this engine?
I am running a 63 inch pipe (measured from the exhaust port face). The baffle I installed is a 1 and 1/2 inch washer drilled out and supported on both sides with a bolt running through the pipe at the end. I have made three different styles using brass brazing rod to  fasten the pieces together. The longest a piece has lasted is three days. A couple of 20mile runs at freeway speed and I am back to an empty pipe. I am new to brass brazing, but I have been making silver jewelry for years. I feel comfortable with a torch. The brass rod has a melt temp of about 1500 degrees so it ain't the heat! the break strength is supposed to be in excess of 50,000 lbs.
Any ideas?
And before you answer, I'm not the best engineer on the planet Smiley
JB

IP Logged
justin_o_guy2
Serious Thumper

What happened?

East Texas, 1/2 dallas/la.
Re: stright pipe and back pressure?
Reply #1 - 07/28/09 at 22:45:17

If a washer had 3 legs that pointed out & back, you could run that up in the pipe & the legs ( given they are made of stiff, hard wire) wouldnt back out the pipe.
Go to a hobbyshop & ask for piano wire. Be careful cutting it & bending it in a small radius. Its so hard it breaks sometimes, in the sizes above 1/16th. It can screw up cheap diagonals,too.

Not sure how it will behave after being brazed on. You may have to quench it. Or not?

The people never give up their liberties but under some delusion.- Edmund Burke.
  IP Logged
LANCER
Serious Thumper
Alliance Member

Savage Beast
Performance Parts

Oklahoma
Reply #2 - 07/29/09 at 05:00:29

You can buy short baffles from www.Jirehcycles.com for just a few bucks, in assorted lengths.