Send Topic Print
Exhaust leak help (Read 91 times)
trapper_canada
YaBB Newbies
2005 No Login

Thumpers are FUN!

Exhaust leak help
06/27/09 at 19:04:24

First of all I would like to thank everyone here for the great help.  I completed the white spacer mod today.  I know the wrenching involved may be second nature for you...but I am a programmer and this stuff is so "new" to me.  I got the carb out easy enough.  After reading here I decided to remove the battery box so it would be easier..and it was.

Fortunately for me all the carb screws came out.  I replaced the white spacer with a #4 nylon spacer which was about 1/2 thickness.  Everything went good.  I replaced the 4 top screws with new hex cap screws so I'll be OK next time.

While I was in there, I adjusted the mixture screw (2 1/2 turns out) and did the spark plug door mod.

The hardest part was getting the bloody tank back on..but I managed.

I took it for a spin and believe it was a bit better on the back firing but it still had a few BANGS.

That brings me to my question.

I noticed there is a good amount of air coming from where the muffler attaches to the head pipe.

I have two options.  I have a sportster pipe (and the reducer sleeve to fit) that I could put on.

Or I can try to fix the exhaust leak with the stock muffler.

First of all, can i get away with putting the sportster (all baffles intact) on WITHOUT a rejet?  What would be the result?  

If I want to fix the exhaust leak...how would I do that?  Is their a sealant I can put in there?  I have some high temp RTV sealant...would that work?  

Thanks!!!!!!

IP Logged
trapper_canada
YaBB Newbies
2005 No Login

Thumpers are FUN!

Re: Exhaust leak help
Reply #1 - 06/28/09 at 21:24:13