Send Topic Print
Flooded Bike (Read 206 times)
FreeSpirit
Serious Thumper

Joy is my Compass !

North Georgia
Flooded Bike
06/10/09 at 00:17:14

Is it possible to flood your bike while trying to start it?

I've never done it before,but I thought that's what I did today!

I actually smelled gas, looked down and saw gas coming out on the left side,somewhere,not sure exactly where it was coming from!
So I shut the bike off....I had tried to start it several times when I saw the gas.Seems like the gas was squirting out from somewhere.

This is new to me....can anyone give me any info on this.
I left it sitting,thought maybe if I left it alone it might be better,not sure though what to do.

Oh yeah,and I did searches here for quite some time and still am not sure what happened.

The only thing I had done to my bike prior to this, was to put in a new battery and clean the bike.I do remember cleaning the throttle grip and turning it some,but didnt think that would do anything.

2002 Suzuki Savage-Stock.Windshield,Saddle bags,Hwy Bars,Tank Bib.Custom Paint.
  IP Logged
FreeSpirit
Serious Thumper

Joy is my Compass !

North Georgia
Re: Flooded Bike
Reply #1 - 06/10/09 at 00:43:00

I did try to see where the gas was coming from.....not sure.
I took out the air filter....it smells like gas ,but just a little.Not sure if thats totally abnormal or not!

I tried to empty the fuel bowl,(is that what its called)and couldnt get the darn screw out,rusted! Sprayed it with wd40 and hoping it will soak loose overnight.

Checked lines going to the carb...didnt see any loose!

I'm lost on this....as most people are that dont normally work on their bikes...but,I gotta try to fix it and save the money of someone else doing it....I'm also that determined to do it myselfSmiley

I have tools and common sense,just havent learned enough yet,no problems like this til now.But I guess this is when you learn.

If anyone has any suggestions, I would appreciate it.

IP Logged
odvelasc
Ex Member