Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
header wrap (Read 152 times)
danroot

I love YaBB 1G -
SP1!

header wrap
06/08/09 at 16:26:45

any of you guys ever heard that using a heat wrap on your header will make it brittle? local mechanic guy says that it traps heat and will not let the pipe cool down, making it brittle.

never heard that one, what do y'all say?

IP Logged
Savage Eddie

Custom Bob's ROCK!

40 miles west of Chicago
Re: header wrap
Reply #1 - 06/08/09 at 16:56:43

im gonna go grab my hammer and smack my exhaust pipe....

seriously, i am a certified mechanic and have never come across a problem with header wrap yet. i use it on my 99 and had it on my 96. i put 5000 miles on the last one and tomorrow ill unwrap the pipe and see what it looks like. (one of the few parts i have left of it) if theres any signs of brittleness or damage from the wrap ill take a pic and post it

IP Logged
danroot

I love YaBB 1G -
SP1!

Reply #2 - 06/08/09 at 17:17:16

sweet!  my pipe has been wrapped for about a year and i dig the look and the the fact that i dont melt my chucks that easily. it would be a shame to have to remove it.

IP Logged
PTRider

Reply #3 - 06/08/09 at 21:18:12

Quote:
Should I use a Header Wrap?
NO! ABSOLUTELY NOT.
There is nothing that will damage a header faster than the use of a header wrap, other than attacking it with a hammer or shot gun.  As advertised, these wraps do keep the majority of exhaust gas temperatures within the header.  The result is the wraps will prohibit the header tubing from cooling properly.  If you reduce the ability for headers to dissipate adequate heat properly, the result will  be premature failure of the metal.   Depending upon the application use and temperatures involved, the life can be reduced to only a few hours.  We consider exhaust wraps to be the header manufacturer's best friend.

http://www.stahlheaders.com/faq.htm

Quote:
What voids this warranty?