Pages: 1 2 
Send Topic Print
new to s40 (Read 282 times)
mikeo
YaBB Newbies

Tennessee
new to s40
05/22/09 at 09:23:34

Hey guys, first post here. I am looking at an '05 S40. Tell me why I should buy it. I love the looks of the single cylinder. I like bikes in general, am not brand loyal. I am considering buying it just because I like it. Again, tell me why I should buy it. Thanks.

savage virgin
  IP Logged
PTRider

Re: new to s40
Reply #1 - 05/22/09 at 09:29:24

Very high smiles per gallon.

Low cost to buy, operate, repair, insure.

Fun ride in town and shorter trips.  Not the best choice for a cross country cruise.

IP Logged
JeremySW
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Reply #2 - 05/22/09 at 09:51:49

I'm new to them as well, so take me with a grain of salt - but I'll tell you what has attracted me to them.

-Simplicity. Engine & chasis -They are about as basic a motorcycle you can buy and still have a little ''balls''. There Isn't a ton of extra crap on them so they make a pretty good base if you want to ''cut your teeth'' customizing(bobbing, chopping, etc) The styling is nice and simple so it makes a good canvas in my opinion.

- Price/Value. They aren't super pricey bikes to begin with, so great deals can be had. It also seems that the aftermarket parts are ''cheap'' compared to other bikes.

- Wealth of knowledge. After finding this site I feel pretty confident that people on here could help me with almost anything I'd need to do.

Honestly if I had the money - I would be buying a Harley Sportster(Iron, or just black 883). My brother-in-law has one and I love it. But I think the s40 is a great value and probably more appropriate for a starter bike.

IP Logged
AngloSaxon

I'd rather have one
big one than four
small ones.

Framingham MA
Reply #3 - 05/22/09 at 10:46:54

Ditto on the other two comments. Cost and ease of maintaining and pretty reliable.

As yet, a Bog Standard '87 with a big arse Harley muffler.
  IP Logged
Yonuh Adisi FSO
Serious Thumper