Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1 2 
Send Topic Print
General Advice - where to start wrenching (Read 343 times)
DrunkenDwarf

Morning Zombie

Seattle, WA
General Advice - where to start wrenching
05/07/09 at 19:16:35

I'm no mechanic. I can change the oil in my car. My lawn mower engine doesn't run smoothly and I don't have the faintest clue where to start diagnosing.

I swear my S40 was louder on the ride home from work yesterday than it was on the ride to work, but the muffler was still attached. I'm hallucinating, right?

I know which end of the wrench to use and expect to damage something while working (already chipped the gas tank getting the brass plug out of the carburetor), but I'd like to do as much of my own maintenance on my S40 as I can.

Where do I start?

I got the 2007 S40 with 700 miles on it. The previous own had:
- oil change at about 600 miles
- new jets in (0.055 pilot and 0.155 main)
- installed a "Harley Dyna" exhaust

I currently have 1200 miles on it. I do have the Clymer's manual, so feel free to tell me to RTFM when necessary.

Here's a list of things I should have done:
1) check exhaust for leaks
 - I've got a bit of a backfire on throttle close
 - Removing the muffler seems easy. What do I need to make sure I install it correctly?
2) "Cylinder Head and Cylinder Nuts and Bolts Tightening"
 - The instructions read more like I'm removing and reinstalling everything. Is this correct/necessary?
3) Decompression cable/valve clearance
 - The instructions on this forum are excellent. I'm confident I can do this one, once I purchase the required tools.
4) Idle speed adjustment
 - I've got a tachometer, I just need to pull the tank off to get to the spark plug cable.
5) "Nuts bolts and other fasteners"