Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1 2 3 
Send Topic Print
Sitting on a ticking time BOMB HELP! (Read 566 times)
dale2099
YaBB Newbies

One thump at a time

Sitting on a ticking time BOMB HELP!
05/06/09 at 12:15:55

Hello I am new to the suzukisavage.com so Hi I have a problem I was wondering if you could help me with.... When the bike is running it wil start going tick tick tick tick sounds like a valve ajustment so brought it into the shop and got the ajustment done that didi not work so they brought it in and they could not figure it out and now they are refunding the $800 I have dumped into it any help would be good at this point..... :'(

Thanks

dale2099   IP Logged
marshall13

the first step is to
admit your ignorance

Fort Lauderdale FL
Re: Sitting on a ticking time BOMB HELP!
Reply #1 - 05/06/09 at 12:41:28

check the tech section under cam chain adjuster.... sound like you need a vershlagy....

IP Logged
justin_o_guy2
Serious Thumper

What happened?

East Texas, 1/2 dallas/la.
Reply #2 - 05/06/09 at 13:00:00

First, slow down, get a manual, hang out here & look at a few threads on engine/valve noise & cam chain threads.

How many miles on your bike?

Never spend $800.00 on this bikes engine. Either fix it yourself or toss a used engine in.
Some Ticking is not only normal, but absolutely required, as the valvetrain MUST make some noise.
Have you used a stethoscope/screwdriver to listen to where this ticking is coming from? If its down on the right side of the engine, thats cam chain. If you have 15,000 miles or so, you should be looking at the cam chain adjuster, right away.
If the ticking is from high up on the engine, that would be valves. Adjusting them is kinda scary the first few times, but it gets to feeling "Normal" after youve done it & not wrecked anything a few times.