Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1 2 
Send Topic Print
The tire whisperer- dark side info (Read 402 times)
Phelonius
Serious Thumper

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

The tire whisperer- dark side info
04/18/09 at 10:27:28

I just mounted for the thrid time a darkside tire onto a Savage rim. It seems to get more difficult each time.
Getting the tire onto the rim is a piece of cake with large Harley spoons That I have been using for many years. Gettin the bead to seat is a whole nother problem. Those of you who have done this know where of I speak.
Recently one of my friends completely exploded a tire trying to do this. It tore right through the bead and ripped about 6 inches up the sidewall.  After cleaning his pants he showed me the results.
It was scarey to look at.
Number one rule. Never try to mount a darkside tire if it is a brand X  cheapo. The rubber quality and the quality of the cords leaves much to be desired.
My present choice for the Savage, it a 135 Michilin 15 inch.
While it is true that the original tire is a 145, the 135 darkside has a much greater footprint without being too wide for the swingarm.
As for the problem getting the bead to seat, The higher quality of rubber has a teensy bit more stretchability that is needed.
I use a silicone spray for a mounting lubricant. When air is pumped in the bead always lacks about 25% of its' diameter from seating properly. Deflate totaly and re lubricate and pump up again.  If you reach a stage where it simply will not bead any further, do this.
Use an acid brush to apply Crisco, ( yes common veenerschlider), to the part of the bead that will not take. Brush some onto the rim at that point too. DO NOT DO THE WHOLE TIRE WITH THIS STUFF! Only the section that refuses to take a bead. Re pressure and it should work. If it does not you must have a different expression on your face.