Send Topic Print
More carb BS (Read 314 times)
BurnPgh
Serious Thumper

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

More carb BS
03/26/09 at 02:59:00

Tuning for a screaming eagle. We'll deal first with the pilot jet. The 55 was too rich. It idled like crap at start up, i couldn't use the choke at all or it would die, and the stink of unburnt fuel was nauseating. So back to the 52.5. Heres the thing so far as this goes...I never have been able to "master" lancers carb tuning guide. With the 52.5 I can hear a distinct pickup in rpms past 1 turn out but they never go back down no matter how far I turn the mix screw out ( I can't physically tunr my screw out more than 4 turns. It just stops moving)so I can't really find that happy medium. Ive just settled with 2 turns out which did not cure the shutdown backfire with the stock pipe or with the SE and with the SE Im now getting a pretty burst of blue flame out the backend aswell as the backfire on shutdown. Im geussing rich but im new with carbs. Rich right? I feel like an idiot asking. So far as the jet needle, Ive got it at 1/2 spacer right now. Im gunna just ride a bit and check the plug. Feels nice as is though. Maybe go to 1/4 spacer. I get the distinct feeling no spacer would be too much and im just going to do a plug chop to check the main. There's a dandy stretch exactly 1 mi long right by my house for that little adventure.

IP Logged
dasch
Serious Thumper

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Re: More carb BS
Reply #1 - 03/26/09 at 11:38:05

With 52.5 and 2 turns out, can you use the choke now? Do you need it at all, better question?

IP Logged
BurnPgh
Serious Thumper

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Reply #2 - 03/26/09 at 12:03:14

I can use the choke with the 52.5. With the 52.5 nothing seems any different between the stock and SE except for the flames at shutdown.

IP Logged
SimonTuffGuy
Serious Thumper
Alliance Member

i like to thump...
;)

Central PA
Reply #3 - 03/26/09 at 12:17:17