Send Topic Print
How critical? (Read 167 times)
littlefights

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

How critical?
03/25/09 at 12:37:18

I'm still a noob, so bear with me.

I've managed to spring a leak in one of my front forks.  It doesn't seem like a large leak but its definitely noticeable.  I rode a bit today but didn't seem to notice any performance or handling problems.  Basically, I need to know how critical this is and how soon I need to fix it.  I won't have time to work on it myself for a couple of weeks at least, but I can get it into a shop in the next day or two.  Will I still be able to ride (mostly short trips to and from work) with the leak for a week or two without too much trouble or damaging anything else?

IP Logged
prechermike
Serious Thumper
Alliance Member

Kalashna Kitty, from
Skat

Ponzer, NC
Re: How critical?
Reply #1 - 03/25/09 at 12:53:48

I am still sort of new at this myself.  I bought an 87 that had both forks leaking when I got it.  I also did nto notice any handling issues.  I did notice that the oil eventually sprayed onto my pants legs.  I got mine fixed fairly quickly, but having to order parts and wait for them to come took a week or so.  I continued to ride until i could get mine fixed.

Also, there is a thread in the tech section I am sure about how to fix them yourself.  We did not do all of that exactly, we took the tubes lose from the triple tree, pried the wipers out, drilled into the seals and uulled them out with a screw.  The we dumped out the old oil and put it all back together.  That is a simple explaination.

Mike

2006, HD pipe, Tkat fork brace, elkhide handgrips, gel seat w/riser, silverblue, Ed L's forward controls, Wristwatch, biblethumper650@gmail.com
prechermike   IP Logged
Chopped

Hurts Like hell when
you shoot yourself!

Stafford, VA
Reply #2 - 03/25/09 at 12:58:31