Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Intro - Newish S40 Rider (Read 152 times)
S40Geezer
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Intro - Newish S40 Rider
03/11/09 at 16:16:11

I've lurked here for quite a while.  What a great community!

I started riding again after a 32 year hiatus last June, when I bought a 1982 Yamaha SECA 400.  After having spent too much for the bike plus dumping in almost $1000 for brake repairs, I decided that it was time to put miles on a bike riding somewhere other than back and forth to the repair shop.

I sold the SECA and bought a new 2008 S40 in September, and despite only having put 1200 miles on it so far I am delighted.  I debated between the S40 and a Kawasaki 500 twin, but I'm 55 and old school enough to appreciate a thumper.

Most of my riding is back road cruising in the Mid-Atlantic area, with some interstate spins thrown in as well.  I have no problem maintaining speed on the interstate, but the light weight of the S40 and my 180 lbs. mean paying some attention when passing a truck, or being passed by one.

I ride solo 99% of the time, but have taken both my wife and one of my sons for rides.  I see little difference in performance due to weight consideration between my solo rides and those with a passenger, which has been a really pleasant surprise.

Anyway, I just wanted to thank the contributors here for all of the great info you've presented!

IP Logged
Skid Mark
Serious Thumper

FSO

Calgary, Alberta
Re: Intro - Newish S40 Rider
Reply #1 - 03/11/09 at 17:26:50

Welcome!!! It really is a great site. If you have the time and inclination, there's enough info here to do a complete tear down and rebuild, with a gazillion modifications also.  Smiley

2008 S40 , Windshield, Sigma Cycle Computer, after market backrest & luggage rack, Tkat Fork Brace, saddlebags, 12v power supply, Garmin GPS
'09 C50SE, '09 C90
Shoulda got into this years ago
  IP Logged
Savage Eddie