Send Topic Print
fuel tank issue (Read 254 times)
dan savage
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Re: fuel tank issue
Reply #15 - 03/09/09 at 21:13:07

how do you reverse flush it? (like i said, im new to this stuff sorry)

IP Logged
justin_o_guy2
Serious Thumper

What happened?

East Texas, 1/2 dallas/la.
Reply #16 - 03/09/09 at 21:55:33

Put the petcock on Prime & just gently Blow into the hose from petcock to carb. If its too short, get a longer hose. If you can just establish flow & get the tank empty, then pull the petcock out & have a look at it. The screen is not exactly Tough, be gentle with it. You pulled the lever back toward the rear tire? Horizontal? Thats prime.
A couple of pieces of tubing, one small ID, to use to apply "Vacuum" to the petcock, all ya gotta do is suck on it, theres no airflow & then a bigger ID hose to replace the one that goes to the carb, to blow in & get the crud off the screen, then youll have what you need to check the petcock in all positions & hopefully get the screen unblocked & empty the tank.  Good Luck..

The people never give up their liberties but under some delusion.- Edmund Burke.
  IP Logged
verslagen1
YaBB Moderator
ModSquad

Where there's a
will, I want to be
in it.

L.A. California
Reply #17 - 03/09/09 at 21:56:09

Well, I'm making this as I go along too, just stuff that I've thought of doing after taking it all apart and wonderin'... if there's another beer in the frig.

Naturally, gas would be the preference.  turkey baster might do it.  siringe.  Got me a big siringe for measuring out additives from wally world.  But water might do for blowing out crud.  Put it on prime and baste away.

another thing that might do it is seafoam.  An ounce or 2 in a nearly empty tank should disolve what ever down there.

WWW   IP Logged
dan savage
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Reply #18 - 03/09/09 at 21:59:27