Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1 2 3 4
Send Topic Print
Dealer Trying to Talk Me Out of a SAVAGE!! HELP!!! (Read 967 times)
Kevininsc
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Dealer Trying to Talk Me Out of a SAVAGE!! HELP!!!
01/16/09 at 11:45:07

Greetings Everyone!!   I need some advice/comments regarding comments made to me on my recent visit to another one of my local dealers for the first time.   I went in to again check out the 2009 S40s', but they didn't have any on the showroom floor.  They also didn't have any S50s'.   So, I decided to compare the Honda Rebel 250s' just for the heck of it (a little too small, I think, but nice).  I'm about 5'9", 180lbs.   I am not a total beginner, even though I do not have that many miles under my belt (1000).  My first bike was a Kawasaki Concours, my second a Honda Silverwing Scooter.  I am in my mid 50s and want something that is dependable; not too big/heavy; and easy to work on; and more power than a 250.

The salesman then started to try to talk me out of the Savage, saying that if you are going to do any interstate riding (above 65mph) for any length of time (other than a couple of exits) then the Savage is definately not the bike!!!  He and a sales manager both started showing me other bikes to sit on like a Honda Aero and other larger cruisers they had on the floor.  

I mentioned to them both (after sitting on various larger cruisers), that I really didn't want a 525lb bike, but did in fact want to occassionally go on the interstate (around 1 to 2 hours) @ 70/75 mph.  They again started in with "it will buzz like crazy!"; it will get blown around!; it will be scary!; it will be dangerous!; your hands will get numb; and, it just won't be any fun!!!!

They also said the I might as well just get a Honda Rebel 250, since they all will be about the same interstate riding experience, unless I get a larger/heavier cruiser!