Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
newbie needing advice (Read 144 times)
EZ
Ex Member

newbie needing advice
11/26/08 at 17:24:10

i am new to motorcycles in general, and i bought my savage and got my liscense within the past 3 months so excuse any "rookie" mistakes i will most definitely make. i am looking for drag bars and risers and have absolutely no idea where to start looking or what to look for. how tall of riser? what style of drag bars? anything would help and if i do make any stupid mistakes please call me out on them so i can know!!

IP Logged
Serowbot
YaBB Moderator
ModSquad

OK.... so what's the
speed of dark?

Tucson Az
Re: newbie needing advice
Reply #1 - 11/26/08 at 17:52:25

Howdy EZ, welcome,
Drag bars,...Yep, I did that too....
You want 1" bars, 28" or longer, any shorter will make for heavy steering.  4" risers so the bars will clear the tank.  If you want them lower, you need straight bars, they can be a bit of a strain on your wrists on longer rides.
Try E-bay,..Bars should be $25.00 or $30.00...Risers, $30.00 +...
If you're on a budget, and like rigging stuff, you can fashion your own risers from a pair of deep well 19mm sockets or bmx bicycle footpegs ($10.00), then but longer bolts to fit and presto.  I did the bmx ones on mine...
Two riding tips,..Use the front brake, it does most of the stopping,..
Learn to countersteer,that's pushing he handlebar to steer instead of leaning...
Here's a pic,...good luck
Serowbot

Ludicrous Speed !... ... Huh...
  IP Logged
verslagen1
YaBB Moderator
ModSquad

Where there's a
will, I want to be
in it.

L.A. California
Reply #2 - 11/26/08 at 18:05:07

Hey EZ, welcome to the club.
1st rookie mistake, we can't read minds, so tell us about yourself and what do you want.
Luckily, if you haven't mod'd your bike, there's only 2 config's, buckhorns and drags.
are you cramped or just like the look of drags?