a little confused? (Read 116 times)
spbait
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

a little confused?
11/19/08 at 05:27:53

hey guys,
I have been reading this site for a while now and have found that these guys really know this bike i have the famous oil leak that i have pinpointed to the head gasket. my question is a general one....shall i purchace a clymer manual and the (pic cd)? then with a moderate mech ability is this a doable fix? shall i attempt? thanks for your time!

IP Logged
Oldfeller--FSO
Serious Thumper
ModSquad

Hobby is now
"concentrated
neuropany"

Fayetteville, NC
Re: a little confused?
Reply #1 - 11/19/08 at 05:50:06

Buy the manual, it is a given around here that you have it to refer to.  There are several posts in Search pointing to on-line PDFs of the manual if you don't have the coins to buy one.

CD is very nice, but optional.  I don't own one but I do refer to Savage Greg's old posts in the Tech Section before starting a new job that I've never done before.

Head leak is apparently not all that hard to do, just make yourself a template of the head as per the Tech Post and poke all your bolts in the image's hole locations so you keep up with what's what.  Make sure you have a torque wrench to redo all the head torques that will be uncovered.

I am a fan of the baggie method -- I take something off, I put it in a baggie along with the bolts that were removed.  I also mark sub assemblies with a sharpie for orientation and take digital pics of each layer before I start to dig in -- amazing when you go to put it back how often you find that stuff can go on different ways ....

Former Savage Owner
  IP Logged
verslagen1
YaBB Moderator
ModSquad

Where there's a
will, I want to be
in it.

L.A. California
Reply #2 - 11/19/08 at 06:54:18

If you can tell the difference between a head gasket and a head plug you can do this fix.  Careful attention to detail, able to follow directions, and twist a wrench is all that is required.