Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Safer Electrics. (Read 125 times)
John
Ex Member

Safer Electrics.
10/30/08 at 22:44:13

Another mod I've carried out to all my bikes is the fitting of an electric isolating switch.

I've never been impressed with the way the electric wires are tightly bunched up in all sorts of places on motor bikes.  Crammed into the headlight unit etc etc.  Space is limited on a bike I know so its a necessity. I am a car mechanic/electrician and some cars are just as bad.   Have heard of bikes/cars going up in flames caused by a short circuit..am not necessarily meaning Savages here but rather bikes/cars in general.

I fit a heavy duty isolating switch in the battery positive line.  These switches are the type which carry heavier currents such as that found in starter motor circuits.  Usually found in boat chandlers or maybe some auto electrical shops.  You'll need two lengths of heavy gauge cable...not thin 1mm wires..since when the starter is engaged a large current will flow through these wires.

Cut into the battery positive cable and join up the new switch cables.  The switch itself can be fitted in a location that suits you.  I've drilled a single hole and mounted mine in the right hand chrome battery cover where its easy to get to and operate.

When the switch is in the off position the only potentially live wire on the whole bike is the wire which runs from the battery positive to the isolating switch itself..thus drastically reducing the risk of a short circuit somewhere in the bikes wiring system.   Flick the switch on and you are ready to start up as normal.