Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Need your help - want to upgrade bike for son!!! (Read 170 times)
Savage = HD eater

So Cal
Need your help - want to upgrade bike for son!!!
10/04/08 at 23:37:41

Hi all,

I need your help.  I'd like to fix up my son's Savage while he's away.  He's on a church mission for the next 15 months.  He LOVES his Savage and I'd like to get a few things upgraded.

I'd like to get him a new set of front controls and pegs, a new set of handgrips and top controls. and maybe even a new handlebar.   I would REALLY like to clean up his engine and paint it but I have NO idea how to do anything mechanical.

Where is the best place to look for these things?

Thanks in advance!!

When I'm on the VTX, I'm a smooth operator but when I ride the Savage, I'm back to the basics!!! (and loving it!)
  IP Logged
verslagen1
YaBB Moderator
ModSquad

Where there's a
will, I want to be
in it.

L.A. California
Re: Need your help - want to upgrade bike for son!
Reply #1 - 10/05/08 at 00:09:59

I'd talk to him and see if he wants these things.
I'm 6', and many of my size would like extended pegs, but I wouldn't.
And handle bars are like underwear, certain kinds will either make you real comfortable or sing a different tune.
Kuryakin Iso's are said to be real comfortable and I'd love for someone to buy them for me...  Wink
I got a set of buckhorns, a set of drags and settled on a low rise set 30" wide.  But a set of 9" high Z bars may have been perfect.  To bad I didn't see them 1st.
It all boils down to what does he want?  All the upgrades in the world won't do any good if he don't want 'em.

Now a paint job... hard not to want a paint job.

WWW   IP Logged
LANCER
Serious Thumper
Alliance Member

Savage Beast
Performance Parts

Oklahoma
Reply #2 - 10/05/08 at 05:56:14

What sort of things has he talked about ?

IP Logged
Paladin.
Serious Thumper

Hamster

Sunny Southern California