Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Road trip maintenance (Read 85 times)
littlefights

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Road trip maintenance
09/15/08 at 16:46:46

I just got an '86 Savage.  Unfortunately I had to leave it in storage at the town where I bought it and will be heading up in about a week to bring her home.  The trip will be less than 200 miles but someone in a different thread said something about having to "remember to stop and do the maintenance" on road trips.  

I'm a noob to motorcycles - what kind of maintenance are we talking about and will it be necessary for a trip of that length?

IP Logged
photojoe FSO
Serious Thumper
Alliance Member

I did warn you to
brace yourself

New Jersey
Re: Road trip maintenance
Reply #1 - 09/15/08 at 17:35:16

Hey LF:

I'm hitting the road with my '87 on Friday from the NJ coast out to various points in Pa. Simple things can cause us pain from vibration alone. Ever lose a footpeg? I have on my Sportster. It's not fun riding with a foot on the crankcase cover.

Tighten footpeg bolts, check/tighten battery terminal mounts, mirrors, exhaust. Adjust clutch cable. Rag for oil leaks, that's if you have any. Heeding a good suggestion from one of the forum members, I'm bringing a flask filled with oil and various tools.

It's always good practice to have enough in the way of tools to do simple maint., and to at least take the seat off, and be able to remove the tool box cover and mounting plate to get to the battery. We're not talking a lot of tools here.

When I stop to get gas, I'll check my oil and look for loose nuts and bolt. Any "very" strange noises coming from the motor, you know, "scary sounds", I'm off the road until I know what's wrong.

There's probably more, and I'm sure that someone will chime in. Most important is to enjoy the ride.

FSO
  IP Logged
EssForty

Sunshine, Surf &
Suzuki

Melbourne, FL
Reply #2 - 09/15/08 at 17:58:50