Send Topic Print
New member (Read 120 times)
SavageBlues
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

09/12/08 at 16:05:35

Hi guys,
I'm new to this site though I've been lurking for a few weeks. I'm currently looking for a savage. I've always been attracted by that big 650 thumper motor.But I'm not very fond of custom looking bikes (my background is bikes from the 60's and 70's). But I want to feel that big thumper and the price is very reasonable for a used bike. I plan on modifying the savage in such a way that it will be between a roadster and a cafe. I know the frame is not an ideal start but I'll go from there.

I do have a lot of questions but for the time being, I'll ask only one that will help me in selecting a model .

Should I go 4 or 5 speeds?
Is it possible to drop a 5 speed gear cluster in a 4 speed motor?
Any one can tell me the speed by 1000rpm for each gearbox?
What's the rpm's at 60mph?

Well I guess that's 4 questions!  Undecided
By for now.

IP Logged
Savage_Rob
Serious Thumper
Alliance Member

Mechanically
Inclined Amateur

Texas (Dallas area)
Re: New member
Reply #1 - 09/12/08 at 16:10:26

I like the 5-speed.  Note that the 4-speeds were only on the first few years' models.  That said, there's not a lot of difference between 4th and 5th gear in the5-speed and I could see how the 4-speed would be just peachy. Seems like there were other issues on some of those early models though too (search for "stop the backlash").  I don't think it's a simple thing to try to mate up a 4-speed gearbox with the engine from a 5-speed (or the reverse).  I think the speed/RPM info is in a post in the Tech Ref forum but I'm not positive.

« Last Edit: 09/13/08 at 13:05:22 by Savage_Rob »  

1998|MAC muffler|ceramic coated header|K&N air filter|Amal Mk2 carb|Odyssey battery|iridium plug|NC windshield|Dunlop 491s|Superbrace|EBC brake rotor|12.5" Progressive shocks|Kuryakyn ISO grips
Savage_Rob RidingTX   IP Logged
Trippah
Serious Thumper

I ride, therefore I
am.