Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1 2 3 
Send Topic Print
Windshield preferences? (Read 712 times)
up4fishin
Ex Member

Windshield preferences?
09/03/08 at 17:57:47

I'm new to cycling and already convinced I want to try a windshield.  I'm 5' 9" on a good day, so I'm sure that matters.  A lot of the posts on this site are by people a bit taller than I am, so I'm not sure what works for them will work for me.  Would an OEM windshield work well, or is something else preferable?  I see they come in many heights, commonly 15-18".  Which is best for someone who will be taking mostly short trips under 65mph?  Comments on widths?  Anything I've missed?  Thanks!

IP Logged
ChrisSavage
YaBB Newbies

Lazy Bones

Columbus, OH
Re: Windshield preferences?
Reply #1 - 09/03/08 at 18:20:00

I have an OEM windshield on my Savage and it is SO much nicer than none. I'll take my bike any day over my dad's for the windshield alone. (Not to mention I like the bars and seat better on my '01 than his '07)

I'm not sure what size it is exactly, I'll let you know if I can find out, but I'd recommend it for sure. Try checking the classifieds here if you want one that's less than full price for trial purposes.

IP Logged
justin_o_guy2
Serious Thumper

What happened?

East Texas, 1/2 dallas/la.
Reply #2 - 09/03/08 at 18:20:07

I say any windshield that has handlebars behind it instead of a steering wheel is a darn good windshield to be looking thru. Smarty aleck answers aside, I havent put one on the savage yet, but had one on a Guzzi & liked the small shield fine. It knocked the pressure off the chest, so I wasnt holding on at 80 to keep from being blown off. If its a cold climate, I would want a bigger shield, to hide behind better. In hot climes, I would want the smallest windshield I could get that would be big ebnough to knock the wind off the chest & chin, allowing the wind to hit in the visor area.