Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Throttle Stuck (Read 114 times)
Foxman
Ex Member

Throttle Stuck
08/10/08 at 08:27:13

I just bought a 98 savage. Its sat for about 2 years before i got it. When i go to give it gas, the throttle doesnt move. I followed the line down towars the carberator, and tried moving it with my hand, its very tight, could barely move it, What should i do? try and clean it? wd-40? Im new at this so anyhelp is very much appreciated.

Thanks alot

IP Logged
Sandy Koocanusa
Serious Thumper

Don't blame me.
 I didn't vote
for him.

Bigfork, MT
Re: Throttle Stuck
Reply #1 - 08/10/08 at 08:30:23

Unhook the cable from the carburetor and determine whether it's the cable or the carb that's sticky.  That should cut your monkeying around time by a considerable amount.

Savage: (adj)1. Wild 2. Uncivilized : Primitive 3. Ferocious 4. Cruel or merciless : Brutal --- Webster's. (n.) 1. A motorcycle named for its seat.--- Sandy's unabridged
jlmorton@centurytel.net jlmorton@centurytel.net   IP Logged
Foxman
Ex Member

Reply #2 - 08/10/08 at 08:31:08

ok, thanks so much

IP Logged
justin_o_guy2
Serious Thumper

What happened?

East Texas, 1/2 dallas/la.
Reply #3 - 08/10/08 at 08:31:51

Remove the carb & clean it thoroughly, check every crook & nanny. Lancer just posted what to do with a carb so abused.replace the jets & all kinds of things. Look around at other threads & see if you can find it. I cant remember the title.
Congrats! You'll have fun with the bike.

I think if it sat 2 years, the carb needs attention inside, even if the cable is stuck & not the carb. But, Sandy did nail basic T/shooting ideas. Good point Sandy.

The people never give up their liberties but under some delusion.- Edmund Burke.
  IP Logged
Foxman
Ex Member

Reply #4 - 08/10/08 at 08:43:01

i will and thanks, im plannin on takin the carb out and cleaning it right now.

IP Logged
Foxman
Ex Member

Reply #5 - 08/10/08 at 18:23:20