Choke ??? (Read 124 times)
motokid
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Choke ???
07/22/08 at 09:13:53

Hi,

just got the bike, it's 2008 used model with 1000 Kms on it - pretty much, looks like brand new. I'm also brand new to motorcycling so I don't have a point of reference (other with old experiences with the carburated cars).

My question is about how the choke should feel/react. These days it's rather hot around here, 25C-30C (say 80-ish F) in my garage. Bike starts fine without the choke. Yesterday I tried to start it with the choke and it started but with very low RPM ( thump, thump, thump), I'd say maybe one third of what it usually runs on idle. I pushed choke in after 10 seconds and it immediately started running (idling) normally. After a ride, during idling of warmed up engine, I pulled the choke out (just to see what would happen) and it just stalled. Pushed the choke in and it started normally.

So, is this how it should be, or there's something wrong wit the carb? Is there some special set up for the choke?

As mentioned earlier, I got it from the dealer, looks like new, brass plug is in place, does backfire from time to time (not that I'd be able to notice - just too scared with everything else that's going on while riding Smiley Smiley )

thks,

K

IP Logged
Yonuh Adisi FSO
Serious Thumper

Savage Jedi (Knight)

Pilot Valley NV, aka Tatooine
Re: Choke ???
Reply #1 - 07/22/08 at 10:26:27

Technically we don't have a choke, we have an enrichener. When you pulled the "choke" out what you did was allow more fuel in and it flooded, that's why you stalled out.

A choke cuts off the air for cold starts.
An enrichener just dumps more fuel in for cold starts.

Same principle, different methods.

Check out Flight of Destiny http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00H9130XC
  IP Logged
flcruzr
Ex Member

Reply #2 - 07/22/08 at 10:40:43

Good to know!  Wow!  I always seem to learn something new in this forum.   Cheesy

IP Logged
Sandy Koocanusa
Serious Thumper