Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1 2 
Send Topic Print
Turn signals flash too fast (Read 224 times)
Aitatxo
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

UK
Turn signals flash too fast
07/22/08 at 03:34:19

Hello all, I've just picke up a '88 model, the turn signals flash really fast and more so at higher revs, so much so that at high speed (ahem) the turn signal looks like it is fixed on and not winking Wink.

Any suugestions?

Cheers

IP Logged
Sandy Koocanusa
Serious Thumper

Don't blame me.
 I didn't vote
for him.

Bigfork, MT
Re: Turn signals flash too fast
Reply #1 - 07/22/08 at 04:49:02

I'm no electrician, but I'll throw out some food for thought.  If the voltage regulator isn't working right, could it be that the flasher heats up too fast?

I guess that would make it stay off, maybe.  Like I said, no electrician. Smiley

Savage: (adj)1. Wild 2. Uncivilized : Primitive 3. Ferocious 4. Cruel or merciless : Brutal --- Webster's. (n.) 1. A motorcycle named for its seat.--- Sandy's unabridged
jlmorton@centurytel.net jlmorton@centurytel.net   IP Logged
Charon
Serious Thumper

Harvard, NE
Reply #2 - 07/22/08 at 05:45:23

If it works like the ones in cars, I'd guess the bulbs are too high wattage. Second guess would be a chafed wire between the flasher and the switch, drawing too much current. Or last, a defective flasher.

If the voltage regulator were putting out a high enough voltage to make the flasher run fast you would probably be burning lights out very quickly, as well as overcharging the battery and running it dry.

Eschew obfuscation.

IP Logged
T Mack 1 - FSO
Serious Thumper
Alliance Member

sold 2001 LS650 for
a 1986 XLH1100

Emmaus,Pa
Reply #3 - 07/22/08 at 14:55:45

Since it's an older bike,  the other possibility is that someone put a 6v flasher unit on.    It would do what you say but for only so long before it burned up.

Engineers design things, Technicians make them work.
---