Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1 2 3 
Send Topic Print
Water Injection for Savage (Read 427 times)
Gary On A Savage
Serious Thumper
Alliance Member

Only 15 mins riding
could save you $$$
in Dr bills

Fresno, California
Re: Water Injection for Savage
Reply #15 - 07/12/08 at 15:35:03

Steve M wrote on 07/12/08 at 11:56:56:
Fascinating thread this!

I personally wouldn't trust anything that involves water in an engine.
A savage is an economical machine that runs about as lean as you can get.
Surely whatever you do to try and achieve more MPG just means it will run even leaner?
I'm no scientist but I have always thought burn less fuel means get less power?

If you want better economy than your getting from a savage then buy a 50cc scoot! (then you get the less power bit as well, lol!)

My understanding is that a lot of gasoline is used to cool the engine, by not burning.  The idea behind this vaporizor is to use only the amount of gas you need to burn and use water vapor to cool.  I'm not an expert, and don't know all the explainations, but that is my understanding of how it's supposed to work.

'95 Savage with the lowered, full fender look
'96 Honda Shadow 1100 ACE
My Riding Blog: http://garyonasavage.blogspot.com/
WWW   IP Logged
Jerry Eichenberger
Serious Thumper

2006 S40.  OEM
windshield, saddle
bags, Sportster

Columbus, Ohio
Reply #16 - 07/12/08 at 15:41:19

We also had water injection on the early (pre G model) B-52s, and early KC-135 tankers.  Hence, they were affectionately called "water wagons".  Those early jet engines had horrible acceleration for takeoff.

Huge plumes of black smoke on takeoff, sucking fuel thru them like nothing else could.  I can't imagine how it could increase efficiency.