Send Topic Print
27 / 31 HP Savages (Read 139 times)
Flemming from Denmark
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

27 / 31 HP Savages
07/07/08 at 14:13:35

Hi. Just bought a 1992 savage, and must say it’s a positive surprise. I’ve been riding Honda CB’s for  many years now,  but I already love the difference ;0)
There is a thing tricking me: The Savage is imported to Denmark from Germany and according to all documents it’s a bike with 27 HP an when I’m looking here and other places I almost only read about savages with 31 HP. Can see in German websites that there’s many 27 HP Savages for sale
Anyone who can tell me the difference? hy it's there? or better!! tell me how to find the last 4 HP?  Wink
Forgive me my “Danish-English”  Smiley
Flemming

IP Logged
Charon
Serious Thumper

Harvard, NE
Re: 27 / 31 HP Savages
Reply #1 - 07/07/08 at 14:35:07

Is it possible one set of specs is measuring "Crankshaft Horsepower" and the other "Rear Wheel Horsepower"? That difference is said to account for 10% - 15%. That could make the 4 HP difference.

Eschew obfuscation.

IP Logged
Flemming from Denmark
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Reply #2 - 07/07/08 at 14:48:42

I don't think so. Course on the German websites the 31 HP Bikes is also for sale. Maybe it's a German rule about the age of the rider an up to 27 HP or so. We has that kind ogf laws in Denmark to. I'm sure the 4 HP is hidden somwhere  Smiley and I don't think they would rebuild the hole engine for that? Wish I could wite german, the Savage is very popular there, with several lagre forums, unfortunally wrote in german ( Could be Egnima for my sake Grin don't under stand a word  Smiley)

IP Logged
Max_Morley
Serious Thumper

LT650 Luxury Touring
& sidecar rig

Moses Lake. WA
Reply #3 - 07/07/08 at 15:01:29