Tom the Rookie (Read 444 times)
treyes
YaBB Newbies

On a Slippery Slope

Eastern PA
Tom the Rookie
07/06/08 at 17:51:16

hello world

I'm Tom, up in Albany NY.  I am a beginner rider, and really looking forward to a ton of practice.

I have my permit, and got registered for the earliest BRC I could get, which is mid August.  I had no intention of even thinking about getting a bike until after the course, until I walking into a local dealer and almost being blinded

I just happened to stop in with my girlfriend (after being there the day before with my buddy) to see a delivery that they moved to the showroom floor just a few hours prior.  It was meant to be

1998 Savage, bright orange.  They had 2 new S40's right next to it, but this one bike stood out in the entire showroom, bar none.

I talked to the dealer, and cut the deal at about $2500, including a helmet

I did the paperwork, and dropped of the deposit.  They have been closed for the holiday, and I have to go back on Tues. to truck it home.  I have a few friends to ride with, but don't intend on riding much until after the course.

I'm glad to have found you guys, and have been reading through the forums for the past few days.  So far I only see one problem: I like to tinker, and can already see a few projects that I'd love to do to make her my own.

I'm sure I already have a ton of questions that I just don't know I should be asking, but for now, thanks for all the info I've already read, and I'll see you on the road (in about a month)

Tom

IP Logged
rigidchop
Serious Thumper

don't feed the drama
llama

ravenswood wv
Re: Tom the Rookie
Reply #1 - 07/06/08 at 17:59:19

welcome, alot of new riders start out here. its a great place to hang out. check out the tech section, and don't be afraid to use the search function. alot of the questions you may have, have already been answered.

87 VM ED L
  IP Logged
T Mack 1 - FSO
Serious Thumper
Alliance Member

sold 2001 LS650 for
a 1986 XLH1100

Emmaus,Pa