Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1 2 
Send Topic Print
Lovin' this thing! 'cept goin' fast... thoughts? (Read 324 times)
halftimshow
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Lovin' this thing! 'cept goin' fast... thoughts?
06/25/08 at 06:57:32

What a GREAT bike!  I have an 87 Savage 650 and LOVE it!  My wife and I have been riding for about 2 years now (we just took the MSP course 2 months ago together - TAKE IT IF YOU HAVEN'T YET!).  The Savage has been our main bike for the past year and it's a gem.

The big issue I've been having with it, however, has been a "cough" as I climb to higher speeds.  It doesn't do it if I come quickly out of a start, but  if I'm rolling at 45 and need to get up to 55, the thing starts to sputter like it's running out of gas.  Once I reach "cruising speed" it usually evens back out?

Is this a carb issue?  Someone told me that the blue on my exhaust pipe could indicate that I'm running "rich."  Would this also explain the jumpy-ness?

Thanks all!  I look forward to chatting more in the days to come!

IP Logged
Rockin_John
Serious Thumper
Alliance Member

+36° 10' , -95° 48'
Re: Lovin' this thing! 'cept goin' fast... thought
Reply #1 - 06/25/08 at 07:23:30

Hi! Your's is definitely not a characteristic problem of the Savage... so I'm just kind of shooting in the dark here!

Before I blame the carb, how long has it been since you put a good new spark plug and air filter in the bike? I'd try that first, then question the carb being in need of cleaning out. HTH  Cheesy

IP Logged
SimonTuffGuy
Serious Thumper
Alliance Member

i like to thump...
;)

Central PA
Reply #2 - 06/25/08 at 07:38:54

Welcome to the forum Tim. It was great meeting you last night and I'm glad I could point you to the forums. Smiley

Simon
Pimptiva.com
WWW   IP Logged
verslagen1
YaBB Moderator
ModSquad

Where there's a
will, I want to be
in it.

L.A. California
Reply #3 - 06/25/08 at 07:42:44

We gotta narrow it down a bit...