Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1 2 3 4 
Send Topic Print
S40 ? CANNOT DECIDE - PLEASE HELP (Read 821 times)
Gary On A Savage
Serious Thumper
Alliance Member

Only 15 mins riding
could save you $$$
in Dr bills

Fresno, California
Re: S40 ? CANNOT DECIDE - PLEASE HELP
Reply #30 - 06/16/08 at 09:15:23

As you've heard, the S40/Savage is a great "little" bike.

One thing about about it that I want to emphasize is the easy maintenance and simplicity it has.  I have a Honda Shadow 1100 as well as a Savage.  Doing any work on the Shadow is almost an impossibility, it's too complex for me.  The Savage I done ALL the work on myself with ease (and fun), and I have never taken it to the shop.  Let me just say that I am NOT a mechanic!  But I have found the Savage an easy bike to work on and modify as I want to.  It's given me confidence to know that I'm not dependent on a shop to change my oil or change my brake pads.  I've worked on the carb, drained and replaced the fork oil, did the chain conversion, replaced clutch springs, and am now in the middle of a total change in the look, all by myself.  I know everything about the little bike and it has become a real "friend" to me.  Sure, I like riding my Shadow 1100, but if I had to get rid of one of my bikes, it would not be the my Savage that would go.   Wink

'95 Savage with the lowered, full fender look
'96 Honda Shadow 1100 ACE
My Riding Blog: http://garyonasavage.blogspot.com/
WWW   IP Logged
Jerry Eichenberger
Serious Thumper

2006 S40.  OEM
windshield, saddle
bags, Sportster

Columbus, Ohio
Reply #31 - 06/16/08 at 10:53:05

I too had a long lay off from riding - 40 years.

I bought my 2006 S40 in April, and have only put 500 miles on it.

As for comfort issues - it's fine for me at 5'11" and 190 pounds.