Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1 2 
Send Topic Print
Carb innards looking kinda' crispy... (Read 304 times)
Sandy Koocanusa
Serious Thumper

Don't blame me.
 I didn't vote
for him.

Bigfork, MT
Carb innards looking kinda' crispy...
05/31/08 at 19:16:20

Is this a bad thing?

It doesn't wipe off with carb cleaner.  I haven't scrubbed or scraped or hammered yet.  Just sprayed and wiped to no avail.  Is it worth trying to clean, or should I quit while I'm ahead?  

I presume this is the "slide galling" I've read about?  I am just learning by tearing the thing apart, so I'll probably screw up the terminology.

Oh, and Savage Wahine, one thing you could include in your very excellent technical document...

"If you are nauseated by the smell of gasoline, as I am, just disconnect all the lines to the carb.  Then let the bike sit in an old barn full of owls and pigeons for approximately one year.  Owl and pigeon poop makes an excellent gasoline odor masker." Grin

This is off the parts bike, so I'm not in a big yank over it.  I wanted to make a practice run before screwing around with the People Eater's carb.

Savage: (adj)1. Wild 2. Uncivilized : Primitive 3. Ferocious 4. Cruel or merciless : Brutal --- Webster's. (n.) 1. A motorcycle named for its seat.--- Sandy's unabridged
jlmorton@centurytel.net jlmorton@centurytel.net   IP Logged
LANCER
Serious Thumper
Alliance Member

Savage Beast
Performance Parts

Oklahoma
Re: Carb innards looking kinda' crispy...
Reply #1 - 06/01/08 at 05:34:03

BAD ? ?   It does not look good.