Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1 2 3 
Send Topic Print
What would happen if I just leave it stock? (Read 525 times)
Jay
Serious Thumper

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Fort Worth, Texas
What would happen if I just leave it stock?
05/27/08 at 03:00:30

OK, I know I've been asking a bunch of questions like a total newbie, but that's what I am. I've also been beating around the bush about this, but I'm going to just come out and ask it. What would happen if I don't do anything to the bike, and just rode it stock? I mean other than switch to synthetic oil, and add a fuel filter; and maybe see if anybody in this part of Texas sells gas w/o E85.
I don't intend to replace the muffler. I'm not interested in more power or performance. Other than the seat mod and the steering riser mod; none of the others appeal to me or to my riding needs. In addition to all that, opening up the carb, frankly, scares the piss out of me. I've only one other experience with a carb rebuild. It was on a little single barrel off of a Datsun 210. I was oh so careful, but when I was done, I had about four parts left over. I was young and foolish enough to mount it anyway, and the little thing fired right up and ran another four years like that, without any loss of power, performance, or mpg. I vowed never again would I touch a carb; but now it's being recommended to do just that to my brand new little thumper.
So if I don't, am I asking for ruin? As I've said before, I'm no tinkerer. I've no burning curiosity to "take it apart see how it works". I've alot of respect for you guys that do, but it's just not my thing. I can do the basic maintenence, but that is about as far as my mechanical expertise goes. The complicated stuff I take to a mechanic. Like Paladin says, each to his own level of expertise; or something to that effect.
So, what could I expect if I just run it stock?