Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
New Dyna muffler, need to re-jet? (Read 123 times)
rkdygert
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

New Dyna muffler, need to re-jet?
05/14/08 at 08:27:44

So I just bought a HD Dyna Superglide muffler on ebay and I want to get everbody's opinion about re-jetting.  Right now the bike is stock (haven't even adjusted the mixture screw).  Will the Dyna muffler be different enough to need new jets or can I just adjust the carb?

Thanks,
-Ryan

IP Logged
jomiyo

Thump or Bump!

Elmira, NY
Re: New Dyna muffler, need to re-jet?
Reply #1 - 05/14/08 at 08:44:03

I am new with all of this  carb stuff, so i have been reading everything i can find out.   I still don't have the courage to start wrenching or else i would be doing it.

You should plan on opening up the carb.   with that new exhaust the backfire will probably get to you fairly quick.    i suggest doing a search on "white spacer"  that should give you the info your are looking for.   then depending on your altitude you may or may not need to re-jet, but you will need to fiddle with the mixture.

'07 s40, White spacer removed, Jardine muffler, iron cross mirrors, Ed-L +4" controls, under seat bags- only on for trips, and 1 happy nut in the seat!
  IP Logged
rpgpgmr

Huntington, WV
Reply #2 - 06/16/08 at 12:36:36

Sorry, I'm a little late to this post.  You may not have to re-jet, but you will definitely need to adjust your idle mixture and your idle speed.  If it's a new bike then there will be a brass plug covering the screw that you will have to remove.  There's a good chance you'll have to do the white-spacer mod as well.  Some folks on here have elminitated the backfire without the white-spacer mod, but I couldn't.

Do some searches on re-jetting, white-spacer, idle mixture screw, etc. and you'll find lots of easy to understand step-by-step instructions.

2005 Suzuki Boulevard S40
2007 Yamaha V-Star Classic
  IP Logged