Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Fuel Gage (Read 173 times)
2000Savage
YaBB Newbies

Fuel Gage
04/15/08 at 17:41:50

Is there any type of drop in tank fuel gage you can buy, even if its attached to the gas cap.  I am new to bikes, and never think of actually opening the gas cap and looking to see how much gas i have, if there is anything you know of that would work with this bike i would appreciate it, and i know check you mileage when you fill up but i never think of that.  Any input i would appreciate thanks in advance.

IP Logged
Oldfeller--FSO
Serious Thumper
ModSquad

Hobby is now
"concentrated
neuropany"

Fayetteville, NC
Re: Fuel Gage
Reply #1 - 04/15/08 at 18:05:14

Bikes generally lack even the rudimentary fuel level gages that do exist on our fancy riding lawnmowers.

A proper biker can keep track of his gas by resetting his trip odometer
(oops, we don't have one of those either).

Well, we have a reserve tank and a petcock to turn when it's time to use it.  That's our official "gas gage".

We also know if we fill our Savage's up every weekend we can ride all week long on an around town basis without hitting reserve IF we fill the tank up every Saturday morning.

If we are going on a trip, fill it up before you leave and then stop every 100 miles and top it back up.  (your aching butt and back are another reliable time/mileage indicator, as well as your need to get a cup of coffee and take a leak)

In short, even if you had one, what in the world would you ever need to look at it for?

Roll Eyes

Oldfeller

Former Savage Owner
  IP Logged
Max_Morley
Serious Thumper

LT650 Luxury Touring
& sidecar rig

Moses Lake. WA
Reply #2 - 04/15/08 at 19:23:59