Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1 2 
Send Topic Print
Bought it! (Read 382 times)
Keith_T

Northern Illinois
Bought it!
04/05/08 at 21:31:43

Today I bought the 04 Savage I've been talking yours ears off for the last 2 months about.  I decided it would be a good bike for what I want to do with it and the price was too good to pass up.  I've ridden it for 30 minutes twice before buying it and while it felt a little small it didn't feel too bad.  I though will all the tips I've read here I should be able to get it in comfortable riding condition.  I was a bit apprehensive about the vibration  at higher speeds.  I had to ride it 40 miles to get home.  I was pleasantly surprised how quick the bike was and it had no trouble going 70.  Real world roads are a lot different than the roads in a senior community though!  The bumps on real roads are much bigger and more frequent.  By the time I got home my back was killing me from all the bumps.  Also my legs were feeling cramped.  I will buy the forward control plates from Ed next week!  I need to decide which way to go regarding the comfort issue.  Maybe a new seat, maybe new shocks.  

The only drama I had was when I got close to home I took it up to 75 mph.  I had the throttle fully open.  After a minute of this the bike lost power and the engine shut off.  I coasted to the shoulder and tried to start it.  It wouldn't start so I turned it to reserve.  After a few seconds it started up and ran fine.  I have put 70 miles on the bike and my father though he only put 20 or so on last fall.  When I got the gas station it took 2.1 gallons of gas.  So either he rode it more on that tank than he thought or in the winter it got really crappy gas mileage. (If you can call 35 mpg crappy!)