Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Fender is rectifier heat sink? (Read 298 times)
Gort
Ex Member

Fender is rectifier heat sink?
04/01/08 at 14:54:27

I though to re-locate the rectifier off the rear fender until I saw that  it is deliberately flat mounted on the fender in a manner in which suggests Suzuki is using the fender as a heat-sink.  They could have mounted it anywhere, but did so on a large metal fender which is constantly in the air-stream.  Sure looks like its being used as a heat-sink. Someone even said his left a blackened area on the fender, which might indicate heat transfer. Any electrical engineers out there care to comment on this?

IP Logged
vroom1776
Serious Thumper

Re: Fender is rectifier heat sink?
Reply #1 - 04/01/08 at 15:23:22

well, I am a physicist... yeah it seems that way to me too, but others have simply stuffed them into their airboxes after adding a pod filter.  I bolted mine to the bottom of my metal seat.  it melts snow in the winter.

IP Logged
strangeling

Ex Savage Rider but
always a SAVAGE

Salt Lake City UTAH
Reply #2 - 04/01/08 at 17:10:46

I've had mine stuffed in the airbox for about a year and have had no problems so far.

07 S40 Brat BOBBER - Hard Krome drag pipe, header wrap, Cone filter, jetted , harley drag bars, solo seat, chain conversion, seeger forward controls, custom rear fender, fork gaiters.
  IP Logged
Hell, Billy

back in black, again

a dirt road, somewhere in R I
Reply #3 - 04/01/08 at 22:30:05

How do you figure `it`s constantly in the airstream'? I can`t think too much wind would get at it being behind the front seat and under the pillon.

Remember the old Zener diodes on the Bonnies? Right up front on the down tube.....