Buying a 05 S40 (Read 350 times)
KwakNut

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Sheffield, England, mostly.
Re: Buying a 05 S40
Reply #15 - 02/11/08 at 08:16:10

justin_o_guy2 wrote on 02/10/08 at 17:24:31:
Twist the grip, watch it flip. The torque would be very dangerous. .
Not necessarily.  If you include rider weight and fuel, that Boss Hoss has 502bhp for 1560lb, while my sports bike has 250hp for 682lb - about 14% more per lb than the Boss Hoss.  It will rotate in third off the throttle at 120, and you'd be on your backside in the blink of an eye if you give it a fistful in first, but it's very controllable as long as you don't do anything foolish.

I guess it would be dangerous if you gave a Boss to a complete novice or some young kid who doesn't know his limits, but powerful machines don't have to be dangerous.
I know some people struggle to deal with 30hp, but excess power is just beautiful to ride because you don't have to wring the motor's neck to get past things; it's always just a gentle roll of the throttle and you pass anything smoothly, safely and relaxed.  

Back to the original thread, Jjester might find the Savage's stock acceleration dodgy because he's used to bikes with more grunt.

If everyone is thinking alike, then somebody isn't thinking.
--General George S. Patton
  IP Logged
jjester
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Idaho
Reply #16 - 02/12/08 at 09:49:43

After changing oil and cleaning out oil soaked air filter (the dealer doesn't even stock an airfilter) the bike runs better.

there is a plug in the end of the vent hose from the aircleaner housing should that stay there or remove it and leave it out?   Undecided

IP Logged
KwakNut

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

Sheffield, England, mostly.
Reply #17 - 02/12/08 at 09:56:40

It's worth checking whether it's a full solid plug - it may be hollow, just reducing the diameter of the breather.

If everyone is thinking alike, then somebody isn't thinking.
--General George S. Patton
  IP Logged
Reelthing