Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1 ... 6 7 8 
Send Topic Print
Savage reliability compared to Triunph/BSA/Norton? (Read 1467 times)
Hutch
Serious Thumper

till death do us
part

Birch Run, MI. U.S.A.
Re: Savage reliability compared to Triunph/BSA/Nor
Reply #105 - 02/06/08 at 11:03:54

I haven't been on this forum lately, for the reason of ,I'm tired of argueing. So lets see if I can do this civilized. I have been riding for 43 years and owned over 50 bikes, of a lot of makes and size.First off KwakNut is correct about the Savage being underpowered,thanks to the EPA, but so is a 1340cc Harley at 60hp. I have a 23hp 500cc Royal Enfield, that is a twist and wait bike, very slow but I like it. All bikes are different, even the same model. I hear of people doing over 80mph on a stock Savage. I came up with the chain conversion to get over 70mph out of mine, and it is jetted and piped with a K&N filter. I only weigh 150 and the bike was bought new in 06. It now does 90mph. Handeling depends on what type of riding you want to do. That is why I own 7 different bikes. One for each type I plan on doing. The BSA 441 for trails, the 500 Enfield for trails and backroads,the Enfield 750 Interceptor for fast curves and highway cruising, the 650 Triumph chopper for cool bad handleing ego trips, the 100+hp custom V-Twin for shear power and speed. That leaves my 06Savage and my 2002 Kawasaki W650(Triumph clone). I am going to sell all my bikes but two. The Savage will be used for two lane black top at 60mph, and the Kawasaki for highway and out of state trips. All others are for sale. I do not blame anyone for standing up for their bike. Even though the Savage is underpowered, my 2000 Kawasaki 650 twin runs 50hp, and it doesn't handle as good as the Kawasaki, it is a great looking bike, and handles better than my Triumph chopper or my 100+hp custom. The Savage gets about 60mpg. The Kaw gets 70mpg and weighs more with 20 more hp. Everyone could c