Serious Thumper

2006 S40.  OEM
windshield, saddle
bags, Sportster

Columbus, Ohio
Newbie here to learn
01/16/08 at 08:35:07

Hello Folks -

I'm Jerry Eichenberger, from Columbus, OH.  I joined your forum to learn something about these bikes.

I rode back in college, 40 years ago, but not since.  I'm investigating what to get for my return to two wheels.

I've looked a lot at Rebels, and various maxi scooters like the Silverwing and Burgman.  So far, my fire isn't lit by them.

So, any insight into the S40 would be appreciated.  Are they durable?  I'm neither a tinkerer nor a scrounger - I'm the kind who takes my car to the dealer for service, and would like to do the same with a bike.

Thanks much for any help you have to offer.

Jerry Eichenberger
Columbus, Ohio
  IP Logged
mornhm - FSO
Serious Thumper

HMMM

Re: Newbie here to learn
Reply #1 - 01/16/08 at 08:53:09

Welcome Jerry,

There is a wealth of information about the Savage on this forum.

Savages are plenty durable and rideable. Bottom line for someone like you this is probably an ideal MC. It's simple enough that even mechanics at the dealership will be able to fix it.

Let me be the first to suggest a MSF course. It's a great refresher for someone who hasn't ridden in a while, plus you get to do it on someone else's MC.

IP Logged
Savage_Greg
Serious Thumper
Alliance Member

Don't go around your
ass to reach your
elbow...

SW Washington State
Reply #2 - 01/16/08 at 09:14:28

Welcome.

What kinds of bikes did you ride "way back when"?

That would be a good start in discussing your experience, too.

IP Logged
Jerry Eichenberger
Serious Thumper

2006 S40.  OEM
windshield, saddle
bags, Sportster

Columbus, Ohio
Reply #3 - 01/16/08 at 10:13:58

Geg -

Back in 1964 as a high school kid I had an Italian motorbike called an Itom.  It was 50cc, and I've never seen one before or since.  Then, a Honda 90, a Honda 150, and finally graduated all of te way up to a Honda 305 Dream.  Back then, a 650 was a huge bike.