Newbie here to learn (Read 358 times)
skrapiron -FSO
Serious Thumper

Instant Human....
Just add coffee..

Pittsburgh, Pa
Re: Newbie here to learn
Reply #15 - 01/17/08 at 09:18:37

The lifespan of the engine is eitirely a function of the maintenance attention paid to it.

Buy a 20 year old Savage that hasn't had an oil change since the Regan administration and yes, you may develop engine problems on a bike with realtively low mileage.

On the other hand, if you keep up with your oil changes, periodic adjustments and don't ride the crap out of it, it will last darn near forever.  It is a mechanical engine and things will wear.  Don't worry about the banter about the cam chain.  Yes, it tends to stretch on the Savage.  But every other bike on the market that had an OHC engine has to worry about 2 cam chains.  While they may have longer service intervals than the Savage, it costs twice as much to fix when the time comes.

I've put just over 10k on mine since July.  One member (Beatduck) rode his clear across Canada last summer.  The bike is plenty powerful enough as a daily rider and is just as home as a solo touring bike.

Everything I say is fully substantiated by my own opinion.
  IP Logged
Gort
Ex Member

Reply #16 - 01/17/08 at 20:09:34

Savage_Greg wrote on 01/16/08 at 09:14:28:
Welcome.

What kinds of bikes did you ride "way back when"?

That would be a good start in discussing your experience, too.

I started on a 1952 Harley Davidson Hummer.  I bought it off a farmer who had it and a 1936 Harley V Twin for sale, at $50. each. Both were in his barn and beat up.  The '36 was so darned heavy and hard to handle that I passed it up for the Hummer, which was a 2 cycle with a medium weight frame.  I drove the Hummer for a month around Pennsylvania until the engine seized up.  No one told me it was a 2 cycle and I ran it on straight gas.  How many 2 cycle bikes can you name that will run for a month on straight gas?

IP Logged
Savage_Greg
Serious Thumper