Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Savage compared to SV650 (Read 262 times)
Bear_Rider

Savage compared to SV650
01/02/08 at 18:21:17

I'm still learning about motorcycles and the Savage's place in the scheme of things. How does the Savage compare to a "standard" bike like the SV650? I'm not so much concerned about the speed and power issues. They appear to weigh about the same, and I assume that the SV has more top end than the Savage.

I'm more interested in the controllability, seating posture, suitability for travel (camping), and the learning curve moving up from a 250 Rebel.

If this has been discussed before, accept my apologies. I have searched using several terms, but found nothing.

IP Logged
JakeB

I love YaBB 1G -
SP1!

NE Ohio
Re: Savage compared to SV650
Reply #1 - 01/02/08 at 18:34:12

Just my opinion but the SV would probably handle better at higher speeds and the LS would be better at lower speeds due to its low center of gravity. Seating posture I guess would be recliner (LS) or bar stool (SV). Neither would be incredibly comfortable for travel but I'm leaning towards the LS because of the seating posture and other comfort mods that can be done (gel seat, highway pegs). The LS would be much more natural moving up from the Rebel than the SV because of the low center of gravity and the seating posture.

Hope that helps some!
JakeB

IP Logged
Max_Morley
Serious Thumper

LT650 Luxury Touring
& sidecar rig

Moses Lake. WA
Reply #2 - 01/02/08 at 18:47:01