Donate!
Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register :: View Members
Pages: 1 2 
Send Topic Print
CAN'T GET THE STARTER TO ENGAGE? (Read 302 times)
DALE
YaBB Newbies

SuzukiSavage.com
Rocks!

CAN'T GET THE STARTER TO ENGAGE?
12/29/07 at 15:04:34

Hey, I bought a 1996 Savage really cheap but, I can't get the starter to engage??( I know that's why I got it cheap) LOL. I can get it to turn over by putting a pos. cable on the the starter so I know that it's good. I replace the solinode and that wasn't it so now I'm kind of stuck, since I have no knowledge of this bike's electrical system.  I have traced everthing out and the wiring seems ok. I notice it has a little box up front it is called a controller, I  tested it for continuity and it doesn't have any? If you could point me in the right direction on this it would be nice thanks. Dale .

T-Mack and Justin thanks but as you can see from the smart ___'s This place isn't what I thought..... I'm sure I'll figure it out, just thought there might be something common that might cause this. For you  others no wonder my other three bikes are American made, and those like you wonder why you don't fit into to the two brother hood. Won't be back.

Hey thanks to those that were helpful. I kind of have it running now (have clean the carb). I finnally figured it out the new starter relay I purchased was bad, go figure? I checked the interlocks that Greg suggseted and they were all good so I back tracked and rigged an another old relay as a temp that I had and low and behold it cranked up. I added a little fuel and it ran for a bit and didn't sound bad at all.